The Port of Seattle is a port district that runs Seattle’s seaport and airport. Its creation was approved by the voters of King County, Washington, on September 5, 1911, authorized by the Port District Act. It is run by a five-member commission. The commissioners’ terms run four years. In 2009, the Port of Seattle was the 10th busiest port in North America by twenty-foot equivalent units (TEU) of container ship traffic[1] and the 70th busiest in the world in 2008.

Among its facilities are the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport in SeaTac, Washington; the Shilshole Bay Marina; the Maritime Industrial Center and Fishermen’s Terminal on Salmon Bay; cargo terminals and a grain elevator on Smith Cove; and numerous cargo terminals on Elliott Bay, Harbor Island, and the Duwamish Waterway. The Port of Seattle also controls recreational and commercial moorage facilities and two cruise ship terminals.